Unofficial Major Actions April 2024

UNOFFICIAL REPORT OF MAJOR ACTIONS NATIONAL COMMISSION ON RECOGNITION OF DENTAL SPECIALTIES AND CERTIFYING BOARDS APRIL 15, 2024

The National Commission on Recognition of Dental Specialties and Certifying Boards (National Commission) met on April 15, 2024 at the American Dental Association (ADA) Headquarters Building in Chicago and took the following actions:

- 1. Adopted the revisions to the following policies:
 - Policy on Development of Administrative and Operational Policies
 - Policy National Commission and Commission Meetings
 - Policy on Nomination of Public Members
 - Policy on Review Committees and Review Committee Meetings
 - Policy on National Commission Standing Committees
 - Policy on Removal of National Commission Board of Commissioners and Appeal Board Members
 - Policy on Appointment of Commissioner and Appeal Board Members if Appointing Organization Fails to Appoint Due to a Vacancy
 - Policy on Confidentiality
- 2. Adopted a new policy related to Progress Reports and Guidelines for Preparation of a Progress Report.
- 3. Adopted the National Commission 2025-2030 Strategic Plan.
- 4. Approved the National Commission 2024 revised forecast budget based on the decrease in expenses by conducting a hybrid meeting.
- 5. Approved the 2024 Annual Report of the Recognized Certifying Boards and granted recognition statuses to the recognized dental specialty certifying boards.
- 6. Directed the ad hoc Committee on Subspecialty Designation to solicit input from the Council on Ethics, Bylaws, and Judicial Affairs and the Council on Dental Education and Licensure on the concept of Subspecialty Designation.
- 7. Confirmed the next meeting date of the National Commission will be June 24, 2024 to approve the National Commission 2025 proposed budget and elect the National Commission Vice-Chair.

NCRDSCB Members: Dr. Gayle Glenn (chair); Dr. Leonard Aste, Dr. Jeannie Beauchamp, Dr. Michele Beeler, Dr. Jeffrey Chaffin, Dr. Donald Clem, Dr. Kitrina Cordell, Dr. Alan Felsenfeld, Dr. Renee Fennell, Dr. Alan Gluskin, Dr. David Halpern, Dr. Michaell Huber, Dr. Stephen Hudis, Dr. Maureen Lang, Dr. Michael Mashni, Dr. Kathleen Murphy, Dr. Ned Murphy, Dr. Stephen Radack III, Dr. Prabu Raman, Dr. Aruna Ramesh, Dr. Cynthia Sherwood, Dr. Ben Warner (vicechair), Dr. Douglas Wyckoff and Dr. Brenda Young.

ADA Board of Trustees Liaison: Dr. John Hisel, Eleventh District